My last rhyme

I’m afraid, my dear sir, that this is the last poetry I’ll make for you.

I don’t know how long this will take, how many stanzas and quatrains

Or how many drop of rains I’ll watch on my window pane

But I promise, this is the last time I’ll make rhymes for you

 

My love, I’ve lost count on how many times I’ve called you my love

And when i say my love i mean I’ve never wanted anyone else

My love is an ocean deep however you were too afraid to dive

Now we’re here, we’re doing okay but we’re miserable at best

 

Let’s start from the beginning of how we met

When you promised me that my eyes would never get wet

When you told me I’m the best you could ever get

And i when i say that i mean you took your chance and took a bet

 

My love, let’s start from the beginning of our story

When i told you i love you and I’ll never be sorry

My love, let’s start from the beginning

When you told me I’m more important than fucking

 

I dont want to be just a mirror that you use to remind you that you’re beautiful

I dont want to be just important

I’m not just a phone you use to give solution to your lack of connection from this world that’s too busy to give you the attention you want

I dont want to be just another riddle

 

What i need is for you to love me and only me

Love me how you love your coffee

I need you to love the taste of my sweetness and bitterness

That my past will not make you love me less

 

Before, I wrote for you to love me.

I’m sorry, but this time i will write for you again

Until my pen runs out of ink, until i use all the rhymes to your name

My love, once again I will write for you so we can make a deal

 

I will forgive you, but you will forgive me too.

I will forgive you for not crying but forgive me for too much weeping

I’ll forgive you for not staying but forgive me for not making a choice

My love, forgive me for spitting too much words and I’ll forgive you for being silent

 

Forgive me for holding on and I’ll forgive you for letting go

Forgive me for reaching out and I’ll forgive you for staying away

Forgive me for not giving up and I’ll forgive you for not taking the risk

Forgive me for not hating you and I’ll forgive you for not loving me

 

My love, let’s make a deal

I won’t keep records anymore but i need you to forgive me too

So that, at last, I can finish my poem with zeal

Because I was once told that those who cannot forgive, cannot write too

 

I couldn’t care less if I’ve said too many words

Rants you may say, i know I’m just a fool writer

But i cant just let these words take its toll on me

And i promise, that this will be the last, the last time I’ll let you hear

 

Let’s start from the beginning of how we met

When you promised me that my eyes would never get wet

When you told me I’m the best you could ever get

And i when i say that i mean you took your chance and took a bet

 

This is the last time, the last time I’ll make poetry for you

It took me 13 stanzas and a few rhymes

To fix my heart, I still don’t know what to do

But I realized, that we no longer have time

 

This is the last time I’ll write for you

This is the last time I wrote for you

I loved you, and you left me with nothing.

 

 

A free translation of Juan Miguel Severino’s “Ito na amg Huling Tulang Isusulat ko para Sayo”

Happy birthday. I wish you find your happiness, as I strive to find mine. Thank you for everything.

What do you think?

